ABOUT THE HOMEOWNERS EXEMPTION
Each owner-occupied primary residence (house or manufactured home) and up to one acre of land is eligible for a homeowner’s exemption. To qualify, you must own and occupy your home before April 15, and you must file an application with our office by April 15. Once you apply and qualify for this exemption, you only have to reapply if you move or if the ownership changes.
This exemption allows 50 percent of the value of your home and up to one acre of land to be exempted, up to a maximum amount. Each year this maximum amount is adjusted based on the change in the Idaho Housing Price Index published by the Federal Housing Finance Agency. The Index is the same throughout the state and isn't adjusted to reflect housing price changes that vary in different parts of Idaho. That means a taxpayer's home value may increase, but the home is still subject to a lower homeowner's exemption.
For 2013 the exemption can reduce taxable value up to a maximum of $81,000 for the home and up to one acre of land.
To qualify, applicants must own, occupy and use the dwelling as of January 1 but before April 15. Although there are no income or age restrictions to qualify for the Homeowner's Exemption, taxpayers can qualify for an exemption on only one home. The statute governing qualifications for th Homeowner's Exemption is 63-602G. To find a copy of the statute please click here.
The exemption will be extended to all newly constructed and occupied residential structures, including new manufactured housing, if the owner applies for and meets the requirements for such exemption within thirty (30) days of notification of appraisal by the assessor, according to Statute 63-317.
HOW DOES ONE APPLY?
You must complete an application for Homeowner's Exemption. You can get an application by emailing us or calling our office at (208) 287-7200. A form can also be downloaded from our Documents and Forms page by clicking here or try our new online Homeowner's Exemption application! You will need your parcel number (use our Property Search link) and your Idaho Driver's License number for validation.
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER MY APPLICATION IS APPROVED?
When the application is approved, the exemption is permanent as long as one owns and occupies the property. If the property is sold, the new owner must file a new application. Homeowner's do not need to reapply after a home refinance, unless there has been a change made to the ownership/title of the property.
WHAT IS THE APPLICATION DEADLINE?
The deadline for applying for the Homeowner's Exemption is April 15th at 5 p.m. (if the 15th falls on a weekend, the deadline becomes the next immediate business day thereafter).
WHAT ELSE DO I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE HOMEOWNER'S EXEMPTION?
Many taxpayers wait until the last minute to apply for these exemptions. Others fail to qualify because they misunderstand the law's guidelines and deadlines.
Applying now provides assurance that all supporting documentation was obtained in time.